Sub Q advanced eye serum

IMG_4700CONTENT: 15ml

PRICE: £27

MY STORY: I’m always being asked to recommend an eye cream, I’ve never found one that’s made a huge difference so this time I tried a serum instead.

The active ingredients in this consist of peptides & plant saccharides & claim to reduce the look of lines & puffiness, temporarily tighten, & prevent ageing.

The runny texture means you need the tiniest amount, it spreads easily, using too much leaves you with a greasy sticky residue so don’t be tempted. I have developed 1 under eye milia since using this – could be coincidental or from a day that I applied this too generously.

I like the light runny texture & hydrated appearance that it gives but I’d be lying if I said there was notable differences to darkness, puffiness, lines or lift as claimed but I don’t have too many signs of ageing. More mature skins may find the lift & anti wrinkle properties more noticeable.

I’ve used the entire bottle & I think I’d consider repurchasing it if it was on offer in boots purely for any potential of preventing long term ageing. Having said that, younger skins could keep under eyes hydrated by using facial serums & moisturisers which are better value for money.

AIM: improve the look of fine lines, crow’s feet, puffiness & dark circles

DIRECTIONS: use under an eye cream or moisturiser day & night

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Flavanoid Glucoside: proven antioxidant claimed to reduce dark circles & puffiness although I couldn’t find evidence
Darutoside complex: evidence for soothing skin, decreasing inflammation, promoting collagen production & firmer skin

Waglerin-1 Peptide Complex: derived from snake toxin, proven to block muscle receptors to keep them relaxed.

Nonapeptide-3 Retino-Complex: anti-aging results as with retinols but claims to be less irritant (little evidence)

Fluorinated Perfluorocarbon Complex: claims to tighten skin – I couldn’t find evidence how & if it works.

PROS: some proven active ingredients, may benefit mature skin, hydrating.

CONS: runny texture makes it messy, dropper can dispense too much product. Some ingredients have limited evidence.

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

