L’Oréal infallible matte 24h foundation

IMG_5274CONTENT: 35 ml

PRICE: £7.99

MY STORY: as you know I’m not a fan of foundation but I can’t wear CC cremes when there’s flash photography & some glam looks require a flawless base.

I’ve always preferred dewy luminous skin & in my 20s I bought every glowing foundation I could get my hands on – my oily skin would look like a slick of grease within an hour.

Since then I realised what I needed was a matte formula that wasn’t cakey but allowed me to apply glow where I wanted it.

I found that in this product. It beats all my higher end foundations & is the only foundation I’m happy to use at present.

It’s a medium coverage liquid foundation. I apply it with a damp beauty blender. It never looks cakey & builds well where needed.

It’s matte without looking lifeless & retains a slight sheen without getting greasy. It lasts longer than any other foundation I’ve used & wears incredibly well even in problem areas like my nose.

I can’t say how dry skins would get on with this, but it hasn’t clung to any of my dry patches or scars.

There’s a high dimethicone (silicone) content which makes this so smoothing. Some silicones have caused me to break out in the past, this hasn’t been a problem.

The colour range isn’t bad online but in the UK the yellower/darker shades are elusive. I managed to find golden beige 24 (good for an NC 35-40) on a random website & got another one from Dubai. The shade honey (30) is easier to get hold of but is a tad darker & pinker, I can make it work with the right concealer & setting powder.

Definitely worth trying if you have oily skin!

AIM: mattifying formula with air-light texture & demi-matte finish.

DIRECTIONS: apply with a damp sponge for natural looking coverage.

PROS: inexpensive, mattifying, doesn’t break me out, wears well & is long lasting

CONS: difficult to get hold of darker shades, high silicone content may be troublesome for some

RATING: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

