Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser

IMG_4893CONTENTS: 236ml

PRICE: £8.99

MY STORY: I won’t lie, I only used this once a few months ago but was reminded of it when @carolinehirons ranted about this being recommended on TV 😂- follow her for her epic Instagram stories & unmatched skincare knowledge!

Anyway, back when I bought this I assumed because it was recommended by dermatologists & marketed for sensitive skins that it’d be akin to the e45 that I have cleansed with for years.

In my mind it was going to be creamy, non foaming & would leave my combination skin balanced.
The texture is a runny gel, it foams – albeit less than some stronger acne cleansers & didn’t do anything special in terms of leaving my face feeling cleansed. My skin actually felt tight & dry after using it. This confused me, I expected a gentle dermatologically recommended cleanser to be less stripping.
It was at this point I looked at the ingredients & was no longer so confused. Whilst e45 contains mineral oil which can be problematic for some, it’s much gentler than the alcohol & sodium lauryl sulfate in cetaphil. It also contains parabens which can be problematic for acne.

I’m finishing the bottle by using it as a shaving foam but wouldn’t advise this as a facial cleanser.

Let this be a lesson to us all – never buy without looking at the ingredients list!

AIM: Cetaphil gentle cleanser for specific skin conditions; eczema, acne, rosacea and psoriasis.

DIRECTIONS: use as a facial cleanser AM & PM

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Cetyl/stearyl alcohol: fatty alcohols, emollient alcohols not considered to be sensitising or irritant.

sodium lauryl sulfate: SLS a highly sensitising surfactant
Parabens: preservatives, current opinion is that they are considered to be safe in cosmetics.

PROS: Cheap(ish), fragrance free. Might be gentler than some foaming cleansers.

CONS: contains sensitising SLS, foam can be stripping, made my skin feel dry. No beneficial skin ingredients. Not great at removing make up.

Rating: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

