Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation

img_3844CONTENT: 30ml

PRICE: £30

MY STORY: I’m picky with foundations, I rarely wear them & opt for BB/CC creams where possible.

Dissatisfaction with foundation is partly what led to my skin care obsession as I wanted to wear as little of it as possible. I want to cover blemishes without it looking like product.

Sounds impossible but erborian CC creme & L’Oréal infallible matte foundation are 2 examples. This foundation isn’t one.

It has a creamy liquid texture. I found brush application uneven. Beauty blender coverage was medium but buildable, more than one layer looked too heavy for my taste. It did feel lightweight.

Even a single layer clung to dry patches & emphasised pores & lines. This occurred even after prepping skin to be well moisturised. Primers had little effect on overall performance.

Despite a demi matte finish, my skin looked dull. After setting with prep+prime it looked more like skin & for a few hours this looked good in indoor lighting but was still too visible in natural daylight. After a few hours my skin looked super greasy which was odd as it was previously so drying.

In short, this is a perfect shade match (I’m shade 7 medium) for my NC 35 skin tone. After initially appearing dry, it improved & looked OK before getting excessively shiny.

It doesn’t perform well enough to repurchase & I’d try a sample before buying. Other reviews are hit or miss so you have maybe a 50% chance of liking this. Not the best odds after spending £30.

The skincare claims require regular use & because ingredients are low in concentration I wouldn’t rely on it for such benefits. The SPF is too low for full protection in daytime.

AIM: full-coverage, weightless foundation for all skin types

DIRECTIONS: best applied with a beauty blender.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Hyaluronic spheres: plump up skin & hydrate

Vitamin C: brightens & an antioxidant
Larycil: skin firmness, tightens pores, moisturises skin. Evidence shows effective at 3-5%.

PROS: perfect shade for my skin, has a pump.

CONS: settled into lines, pores, texture & dryness. Oily after a few hours. Low concentration of active ingredients.

Rating: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

