Hylamide SubQ serum

img_3777CONTENT: 30ml

PRICE: £30

MY STORY: In autumn/winter my face looks dehydrated & dry, which means it’s time to bring out hyaluronic acid, my usual go to hydraluron didn’t sit well under my current sunscreen & hence I got a chance to give this a go.

I purchased this for the hyaluronic acid in it although it’s marketed as an anti ageing serum with ingredients claimed to drive collagen production, the evidence of these is questionable.

A cheaper alternative is the hylamide low molecular HA serum, it contains only the hyaluronic acid element, I was put off by castor oil in this so opted for SubQ instead.

After 4 weeks of using this, it has delivered on the hydration front. It’s a runny clear liquid, not too runny that it drips off your face so I pipette 3 drops directly onto my face after acid toners. It sinks in well & gives my face a healthy plumpness & glow.

I follow with other skincare without it balling up or becoming patchy. I rub in extra serum into flaky areas or over acne scars & find this makes them less dull looking & helps them leave my face quicker.

I’m not sure about the antiageing potential, but I like this enough to repurchase for hydration if the cheaper hyaluronic acid that I’ve ordered from the ordinary doesn’t match up.
AIM: target rehydration on & below skin surface, visibly improves lines, wrinkles, sagging & textural damage.

DIRECTIONS: 2-3 drops after cleansing/toning before moisturiser.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Hyaluronic acid: 5 different molecular weights to target all areas of dehydration.

Glycerin: humectant, attracts water from lower layers up to the outermost layer of the skin to hydrate.

Matrixyl Synthe 6: boost & support existing collagen, no independent evidence for this.

Copper lysinate/prolinate: support & drive collagen production + prevent premature ageing, limited evidence.

Nonapeptide-3 retinol complex: amino acids combined with retinol. Promotes collagen production without irritating. Limited independent evidence.

Saccharide Isomerate: emollient

PROS: excellent hydration, sits well with multiple products.

CONS: limited anti ageing evidence.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

