Shiseido anti dark circles eye cream

imageCONTENTS: 15ml

PRICE: £50

MY STORY: one of the most common questions I get asked is how to reduce dark circles. For this reason I took it upon myself to try an eye cream specifically targeted to this problem. This particular product was recommended by a beauty blogger on YouTube – one of the many times YouTube made me buy it! In hindsight I should have researched the market for other options before committing to an eye cream for several months but anyway… …Before using this I often skipped eye creams but for the last 8-9 months I’ve used this twice a day. It’s rich without feeling heavy & is pleasantly fragranced. The cream that is non greasy & absorbs nicely.

The biggest change I’ve noticed is that my under eye area always looks well hydrated, feels soft & appears smoother. I’ve had no sensitivity or milia. Sadly the dark circles remain unchanged.

For a cream of this price I’m disappointed that it contains irritating ingredients & that the active ingredients aren’t backed up with research.

I’ve now almost used the whole pot. Whilst I enjoyed getting into the routine of taking particular care of my under eye area & will continue to do so, I will try do so with something less expensive & less potentially irritating.

AIM: Instant vivid brightness appears around eye contour area. Dark circles are visibly reduced over time.

DIRECTIONS: Apply gently around eyes day & night.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Potassium methoxysalicylate – claimed to effect melanin (pigment in skin), research done by shiseido in vitro with no evidence this is applicable to human skin.

Hawthorn extract – antioxidant which may improve circulation orally although no evidence that this is the case when applied topically to skin.

PROS: feels moisturising, nice texture.

CONS: high in alcohol, contains fragrance & linalool which can be irritating overpriced. No noticeable improvement to dark circles. Unhygienic jar packaging. Questionably effective active ingredients.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

