L’oreal nude magique cushion foundation (aka true match lumi)

imageCONTENT: 14.6g/ 0.5 oz

PRICE: £9.99 will go up to £14.99 on 8/6/16

MY STORY: I don’t often review make up on skinformed but I felt this one was necessary.

I have a love hate relationship with foundations, I’ve always felt that to some extent they lead to breakouts if I wear them too often, I also prefer the look of natural skin but sometimes a BB cream isn’t enough.

Lately I’ve been trying lots of foundations, I wear them maybe once or twice a week. I have a few that I love that don’t appear to cause a reaction, eg. Charlotte Tilbury’s Magic foundation & l’oreal’s infallible matte foundation.

More recently I was drawn to this cushion foundation, we know Korean brands have healthy looking skin down to a tee & I wanted in on some of the glowy goodness. This product is new in England & offers a light to medium dewy coverage.

I have used it twice, the coverage is buildable, easy to blend & can cover most problems, I use shade 11 which runs a little dark on my NC 35-40 skin but I can make it work.

Despite my oily skin this sat beautifully & gave me a natural glow, it almost became an instant favourite until the day after. The first time I used it I only used a small amount so thought the few spot were coincidental. A few days later I applied it properly & the same night & day after, for the first time in 5 years I had a cystic spot & lots of smaller spots over my t-zone which is where I had most product.

I have never reacted so badly to any makeup product, I’m sure it was this because nothing else had changed in my regime. I went through each item on the ingredients list & believe the culprits are: butylene glycol & pentylene glycol both of which can be comedogenic.

I’ve had to throw the foundation away as I wouldn’t want to pass it on to anyone & cause a breakout, also I don’t think sharing a cushion is hygienic.

If your sensitive to sunscreen this contains SPF 25 so beware of that too.

PROS: easy to apply, blends in to skin for good medium coverage. Dewy but not too shiny on my oily skin. Contains SPF.

CONS: definitely avoid if acne prone, comedogenic. Cushion/sponge combination not hygienic.

Rating: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

