Origins clear improvement mask

imageCONTENTS: 100ml

PRICE: £23

MY STORY: I’m sad to report that after an initial triumph with pixi glow peel pads, my skin began breaking out. I’m not sure if the pads were entirely to blame but I felt that toning once a night with an acid which required rinsing was just not enough for my sluggish acne prone skin.

I took several measures to resolve the breakout, I switched acid toning pads & invested in a mask for acne.

Which brings me to this charcoal clay product , it hardens so well that you can’t move a muscle in your face. Washing it off is tricky but skin is left smooth & feeling deeply cleansed.

It did not improve my existing acne much at all, but for the rest of the day, my remaining skin was oil free & looked so smooth & clear that I had to agree with the name clear improvement.

Origins ingredients are hit & miss with some well intentioned natural ingredients being irritating, in this case, the mask comes either containing horsetail extract or myrtle leaf extract (I used the latter version), I didn’t react but both ingredients could be problematic.

Overall good for mattifying oily skins but little impact on existing acne.

AIM: Draws out pore-clogging impurities for a deep-down clean.

DIRECTIONS: Once a week or as often as needed, open pores with warm, moist towel and layer mask on. Allow to dry, rinse well.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Charcoal: Has unique absorption properties. Can disinfect wounds.
White China Clay: effective absorbent.
Lecithin: Dissolves impurities. A naturally occurring phospholipid compound used as an emollient & for water-retention.
Myrtle leaf water: Can have fungicidal, disinfectant & antibacterial properties but contains 1,8 caneole which can be toxic in large amounts.

PROS: Leaves skin feeling smooth, cleansed & oil free for a good skin day.

CONS: Pricey, no acid. Difficult to wash off. No noticeable difference to existing acne. Myrtle leaf/ horsetail extract known to be an irritant.

Rating: 3.5/5

One thought on “Origins clear improvement mask

Leave a Reply

