Ren glycolactic radiance renewal mask

Screen Shot 2016-03-19 at 16.51.48.png 
CONTENTS: 50ml

PRICE: £32

MY STORY: this is a throwback to the first acid mask I ever used a couple of years ago. I remember buying it after a 3 hour exam to cheer myself up! 
I recall applying the thick orange jelly to my face & not really enjoying the sticky texture. It also smelt strongly of marmalade which wasn’t unpleasant but might put some people off.

The 1st time I used it my skin went red but once this settled my skin did look radiant & smoother. With continued use however the positive effects weren’t as obvious. I don’t know if it’s because the active ingredients denature quickly or if my skin quickly became used to it.

At the time I wasn’t aware of any drugstore acid masks, I repurchased this a few times before discovering other acid masks. I feel that for the price there are now better value, less sticky & less irritating masks that I prefer to use. 

If you’re keen on marmalade & love the smell this is definitely effective but just know continued use may not produce as dramatic results. Also, whilst it contains some decent exfoliating acids, enzymes & oils it also contains potentially irritating bergamot water & citrus oils. 

AIM: brighten & renew skin tone, improve skin texture, helps hyperpigmentation, sun damage & appearance of scars.

DIRECTIONS: apply to cleansed skin, leave for 10 minutes and use wet cloth to remove. Avoid after shaving or if you have sensitive skin.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Glycolic acid 6% & lactic acid – Alpha hydroxy acids with well known exfoliating abilities 
Citric acid – exfoliating alpha hydroxy acid with little evidence for exfoliating 
Papain – fruit enzyme, little evidence of reducing scars as claimed & potential irritant to sensitive skin
cranberry, grape, orange & grapefruit seed oils – hydrate skin & contain antioxidants 

PROS: wide range of alpha hydroxy acids & some nice oils, citrus smell.

CONS: thick gelatinous sticky texture, some irritants, better cheaper products available. Not as effective with multiple use. Citric acid & papain have limited evidence as exfoliators. Contains parfum. Difficult to use up entirety of product due to pump.

Rating: 3/5

One thought on “ Ren glycolactic radiance renewal mask

Leave a Reply

