Pixi glow peel pads

Screen Shot 2016-03-19 at 16.56.3813/3/16

NAME: pixi glow peel pads

CONTENTS: 60 pads

PRICE: £24

MY STORY: I recently finished using first aid beauty’s facial radiance pads. Towards the end, my skin seemed dull & I was getting small breakouts which weren’t clearing up.

Along came the turn of the pixi glow peel pads, these pads get grouped with other mild acid toner pads & they don’t get as much attention as the pixi glow tonic which contains 5% glycolic acid compared to the pad’s 20% (not far from a professional peel).

These fixed my skin in under a week. After using milder pads for a month, these stung like hell. The pads are more abrasive & noticeably stronger than the other acid pads I’ve reviewed. Unlike other pads you are meant to rinse the acid off after 2-3 minutes.

I was disappointed by this, if I use an acid I want it to work its magic all night long so admittedly I leave this on longer but this is probably unnecessary. You won’t want to leave it on overnight as it leaves a greasy aloe vera residue on your skin.

For anyone new to acid or with sensitive skin these will burn like hell, but this improves with use. For me, the tingling reassures me that it’s working.

Unfortunately despite initial improvement to my skin I got breakouts after 6 weeks. I’m not sure if it’s because I need a twice daily acid or need to use one which isn’t washed off. I’m going back to my nip+fab or origins pads.

AIM: reveal brighter, healthier more radiant skin with regular use. Pores & breakouts are minimised, lines are softer & uneven skin tone is brighter.

DIRECTIONS: use daily PM. Apply to skin & leave for 2/3 minutes. Rinse with cold water to neutralise peel.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Glycolic acid (20%): alpha hydroxy acid exfoliant
Arginine: antioxidants to protect skin
Retinyl palmitate: boosts collagen
Vitamin E: nourishes & increases elasticity
Aloe Vera: heels, soothes & calms complexion

PROS: high concentration of glycolic acid. Noticeable changes to skin. Great for acid users who like a tingle.

CONS: abrasive, stinging sensation, may irritate sensitive skin. Adds an extra step of rinsing after toning. Likely denaturing of antioxidants due to jar packaging.

Rating: 3.5/5

 

Leave a Reply

