Botanics hot cloth cleansing balm

Screen Shot 2016-03-19 at 16.36.44.pngCONTENTS: 65ml

PRICE: £8.99 (I got it for £5.99 on special offer)

MY STORY: I’ve cleansed with e45 & a face brush for years now, but I appreciate not everyone wants to slather on mineral oil & scrub their face with a brush. Hence I finally tried a cleansing balm. I chose this because it has great reviews & whilst being cheap is comparative to more expensive brands.

Unlike e45 this product becomes an oil rather than a cream. To begin with I found it awkward using a cleansing cloth. I was also convinced that the balm wasn’t cleansing my face or washing off properly as it felt like it left a residue behind so I was waiting for my skin to break out! 

However, with perseverance I’m finding that as long as I am thorough with the cloth, my skin doesn’t need to feel stripped of moisture to feel cleansed.

The smell is strong & reminds me of henna. Anyone sensitive to fragrance be warned but I’ve had no breakouts, my skin is feeling softer than ever & the texture is improved. I find the cloth is gentler at exfoliating than my face brush but equally as effective.

All in all I’ve enjoyed this, it has definitely encouraged me to try other balms now that I know my skin won’t freak out & for anyone wishing to use a balm I’d highly recommend trying this. I’m going to use up my store if e45 & decide then whether I want to repurchase or try other products.

AIM: This balm leaves skin smooth, soft & clean. The polishing action of the muslin cloth removes dirt, revealing a radiant complexion.

DIRECTIONS: massage on dry face in place of cleanser to remove makeup or as morning/second cleanser. Dampen cloth & polish skin in circular motions, rinse & repeat until product removed.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Top 5 ingredients*: Olive fruit oil
Jojoba seed oil
Beeswax 
Shea butter
Sweet almond oil *Contains other plant/seed oils

PROS: cheap, mostly organic, removes makeup, doesn’t cause break outs. Exfoliating cloth. Good for all skin types.

CONS: fragrance, oily texture may not be to everyone’s taste. Takes time to get used to using a cloth. Shea butter & beeswax potentially acne inducing if not rinsed properly.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

