Serozinc

imageCONTENTS: 150ml

PRICE: £8.50

MY STORY: After cleansing, I usually acid exfoliate *skip toner* and move on straight to serum. Tut tut! Sadly I am prone to going through phases of laziness when it comes to toning.

I say sadly because despite being one of the more inessential steps of skincare routines, toning with this particular product does make an appreciable difference.

I first started toning to prevent acne. I chose serozinc in particular because the zinc element claims to reduce blemishes. The evidence for topical zinc to reduce acne is limited although there is evidence that in combination with other products it can reduce inflammation and it can independently improve wound healing.

The mist also provides a good water base for hyaluronic acid containing serums. The idea being that the hyaluronic acid binds and retains the water molecules, thus helping hydrate and plump up skin.

I’m not entirely convinced that it’s mattifying, it’s certainly not drying and so I’m not sure why it’s s marketed to oily skins. I’m sure spot prone dry skin would benefit from it too. It leaves my skin with a healthy plumped glow.

The only reason I don’t use it more often is because I’m too impatient to let it dry on my skin and because I don’t like that it feels cold on my face (lame I know) but anyone who likes a refreshing spritz and is patient enough to let it sink in will reap benefits. I’m certainly making it my new year’s resolution to use this more often!

More recently I’ve also enjoyed using a light spritz of this as a setting spray after makeup and it gives a lovely dewy natural finish.

AIM: use as a toner between cleansing and moisturising, or use at any time of day to refresh skin. Helps mattify oily skin, prevent excess shine and tighten the appearance of pores.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
thermal spring water
zinc sulphate (0.10%) sodium chloride (0.75%).

DIRECTIONS: After cleansing, close eyes and mist onto skin. Leave to absorb. Follow with serum and moisturiser.

PROS: Hypoallergenic, non-perfumed, suitable for acne prone skin. Hydrating, leaves skin looking healthier and more radiant especially when used with a hyaluronic acid containing product. Sets makeup nicely.

CONS: cold and wet (lol!) 99% spring water. Only 0.1% zinc. Limited acne benefits.

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

