Origins out of trouble 10 minute mask

 
Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 21.17.50.pngCONTENTS: 100ml

PRICE: £23.00

MY STORY: it’s a week since I last did a review, I had an exam & as I’m sure many of you have experienced, exam time is not happy skin time.

I make an extra effort during revision to look after my skin but the stress always takes a toll, for me it manifests as patches of eczema on my face & the odd spot.

So post exam I was looking for a product to fix all my stress related skin issues, I used a mild steroid on my eczema for a day or 2 to clear that up but for my oily spotiness I thought I’d give this a go.

It has a mousse clay texture which is satisfying to apply & smells strongly of Vicks vaporub which I rather like! This is attributable to camphor which gives the skin a cooling sensation. Camphor is traditionally an oil extract used as far back as Ancient Greece. It has some disinfectant qualities & soothes itchy irritated skin but shouldn’t be applied to broken skin as it is toxic.

It temporarily soothes skin but long term can be drying & cause skin inflammation. Although I doubt this is much of a problem if used as an occasional mask. Sulfur & zinc provide the oil absorbing clay element which again is antibacterial but sulfur can be irritating.

Salicylic acid provides an exfoliating element & I did find my skin appeared brighter after using this. This felt good on my skin, removed oiliness but didn’t really fix my blemishes or scars & whilst I enjoyed it, it’s not on my repurchase list. There are masks with less irritating ingredients which contain salicylic acid, cost less & have an equal effect.

AIM: Sop up oily-shine, slough off sticky, dead cells, and sweep away irksome debris.

DIRECTIONS: apply over cleansed face, leave for 10 minutes and rinse thoroughly. 

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:
Salicylic acid – exfoliator 
Zinc oxide – absorbent 
Sulfur – absorbent & antibacterial 
Camphor – calming & disinfectant 

PROS: nice texture, applies smoothly. Vaporub smell. Good for oily skins.

CONS: potentially inflammatory camphor & irritating sulfur. Vaporub smell. Better products on the market. May irritate dry skin.

Rating: 3/5

One thought on “Origins out of trouble 10 minute mask

Leave a Reply

