MAC spice lipliner dupe

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 20.33.43.png9/2/16 *unfiltered swatches & lip application*

MAC lipliner: Spice £12.50 1.45g
Barry M lipliner: 5 (russet) £2.99 1.4g

I am a lip product hoarder, if I had to choose any makeup item it’d be a lipstick/liner/gloss. I find on a good skin day I can quickly look ‘done up’ just with a good lip colour without applying anything else. As well as a quick way to liven up a face, in winter, a moisturising lipstick or lipgloss protects your lips from chapping better than most lip balms. 

On a day to day basis I have a preference for neutral brown/pinks. I have so many that some colours are dupes for one another! I thought I’d put these to use and share them with you.

A throwback to the brown 90s lip, the MAC lipliner in spice was a supermodel favourite, it’s a very natural looking neutral brown which would compliment all skin tones. I recently bought Barry M’s russet 5 after seeing it look fabulous during a Lisa Eldridge YouTube tutorial & thought it looked very familiar.

And here you have it, identical swatches, the same matte texture (both are quite dry and require lip exfoliation with a balm prior to application) & the same long lasting wearability and pigmentation. Here I’m wearing MAC on the left top & bottom lip & Barry M on the right, both with lip balm underneath but I’m sure you’ll agree it looks like I’m wearing the same product.

The MAC pencil is bigger in size & price but with nothing else to tell them apart I know which one I’d repurchase.

How I used them:

1. Exfoliate lips with cotton bud and lip balm.
2. Outline top lip, be careful not to over line all the way to the outer corners of lips as this can look unrealistic.
3. Fill in lips with liner/lipstick of choice.

Et voila, a natural healthy looking moisturised & protected lip for less than a quarter of the price!

Dupe rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

