Retinol reface

IMG_1401CONTENTS: 30ml

PRICE: £19.99

MY STORY: Retinoids (vitamin A) are a proven treatment for acne and are anti aging. What’s available by brands is much less potent than what a doctor will give you for treatment of acne.

I’ve used retinol reface on + off for 4 years. Before this, I used adapalene, a retinoid cream on prescription for acne which was stronger and would dry my skin out.

As my skin improved with other acne treatment (a post for another day) I switched to this milder product. I use it as a night time serum, it has a silky almost oily texture but sinks in well and because it’s used overnight I don’t mind the small amount of greasiness.

My skin texture is certainly smoother and softer when I use this. It’s difficult for me to assess the effect on acne and wrinkles as I use other products to prevent acne and I haven’t developed wrinkles just yet.

In short this is a good reasonably priced retinoid for people new to retinol who want better textured skin and to prevent wrinkles, acne sufferers may need stronger forms and should see their GP/family doctor.

AIM: 3 types of retinol aiming to give softer smoother skin whilst also targeting crows feet, fine lines and wrinkles.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:

Retinol and hydroxypinacolone retinoate. Not sure what the 3rd retinol is as its not listed.

DIRECTIONS:
Apply nightly to cleansed skin after toning before moisturising. Follow with SPF the day after.

PROS: lasts a long time, did not dry my skin like other retinoids, improved texture of skin over time. Anti aging.

CONS:
Greasy texture. May irritate some skins

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

