Elizabeth Arden the original eight hour cream 

IMG_1397CONTENTS: 50ml

PRICE: £23

MY STORY: I’ve had chapped lips every winter for as long as I can remember. To the point that they’d sometimes crack and bleed. Sad times!

Over the years I’ve got through many lip balms and chapsticks but have never stuck to any because none of them would really work, mostly I’d resort to smothering Vaseline on my lips every night and hoping for the best.

Luckily I came across this thick red gooey concoction after Ruth Crilly (from a model recommends) and a few other YouTubers mentioned it and have been pleasantly surprised. I’m on my second bottle in 3 years.

It’s stickier than Vaseline which means it doesn’t come off as easily. I mostly use it on my lips but I also apply it to my eyelids in winter to prevent break outs of eczema which I’m prone to and also to shape my eyebrows on non make up days. Apparently makeup artists use it to highlight cheek bones and other areas of the face, I’d be reluctant to use it on my face as its full of petrolatum and mineral oils which can lead to breakouts.

In short great for lips, dry hands and eyelids, avoid in acne prone areas.

AIM: multipurpose – moisturise and protect any way that you choose.
ACTIVE INGREDIENTS:

Petrolatum                                                                                                                                                               Salicylic acid
Vitamin E

DIRECTIONS:
Use liberally wherever you wish.

PROS: versatile, lasts ages, doesn’t go off for 3 years.

CONS:
Pricey, distinctive smell although there is a fragrance free version. Full of mineral oils.

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

